With everything you have on your plate,
fulfilling your Washington CLE should be easy.
You are always looking for ways to grow your practice while mitigating risk. ALPS brings more than 30 years of claims experience to help law firms prevent claims before they occur. We understand that in Washington CLE is a requirement, but ALPS is committed to providing substantive continuing legal education to help our policyholders and the Washington legal community as a whole be more successful.
ALPS is proud to be the Washington State Bar Association-endorsed malpractice insurance carrier, offering high-quality, accredited Washington CLE with both live webinars and on-demand seminars on a number of relevant risk management topics, including many Ethics courses. ALPS policyholders can access any Washington CLE at a discounted tuition.
The ALPS CLE library is embarking on a platform migration and our on-demand library is currently unavailable. It will be available again in early March.
Washington MCLE Requirements
Washington CLE credit hours required: 45 hours per reporting period
Specialty credits required: 6 hours of ethics and professional responsibility and 15 hours of law and legal procedure per reporting period, as of January 1, 2016. See below for effect on compliance groups.
Length of reporting period: 3 years
Compliance date: December 31
Reporting date: February 1
Compliance group: There are 3 compliance groups. Attorneys are assigned to groups in a consecutive manner based upon their year of admission. The 2014-2016 reporting group (the group that needs to complete credits by December 31, 2016 and report by February 1, 2017) is the first group affected by the new MCLE rules that became effective January 1, 2016.
Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round up or down to the nearest quarter hour.
Limit on credit hours for recorded programs: Washington no longer has a live credit requirement as of January 1, 2016. Attorneys can earn all credits through approved live programs, recorded products, or other approved methods of earning credit such as writing and teaching. See the Washington State Bar Association website below for additional approved methods and pertinent requirements.
Attendance Reporting Procedure: The ABA reports attendance to the Washington State Board of Continuing Legal Education for live programs (in-person programs, webinars, and teleconferences) within 30 days after the program. The ABA does not report attendance for recorded products.
Washington CLE Requirements (from the American Bar Association website)