With everything you have on your plate,
fulfilling your Hawaii CLE should be easy.
Simple tips to help you protect your growing practice shouldn’t be so difficult to find. At ALPS, we put our 30+ years of claims experience to work helping law firms prevent claims before they occur.
We understand that CLE in Hawaii is a requirement, but that doesn’t mean you deserve anything less than high-quality continuing legal education. We are committed to providing low-cost, substantive programs that help the Hawaii legal community be more successful.
ALPS is proud to offer both live and on-demand seminars on timely and relevant ethics and risk management topics. ALPS policyholders can access any CLE at a discounted tuition.
Hawaii Bar members may claim ethics or CLE credit for CLE courses or activities attended outside Hawaii provided that:
The course or activity is the type of course or activity that could be approved for ethics or CLE credit by the Hawaii State Board of Continuing Legal Education; and
The course or activity is approved by a HSBA approved jurisdiction. The jurisdiction that approves the course or activity may be different from the jurisdiction where the course or activity is held. For example, you may claim ethics or CLE credit for attending a course in Texas that has been approved by California.
If the above criteria are met you need not submit an attorney application for course approval to the Hawaii State Board of Continuing Legal Education. Active members may claim credit for the course or activity to the same extent as in the approving jurisdiction.
HSBA Approved Jurisdictions include the following states where ALPS seeks CLE accreditation:
AK, AR, AK, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, ID, IN, KS, ME, MN, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, ND, SC, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY
Fulfilling Your Hawaii CLE Is Easy:
Find Your Course
Sit Back & Enjoy
Hawaii MCLE Requirements
Credit hours required: 3 hours per reporting period
Specialty credits required: 1 hour of ethics credit every 3 years
Length of reporting period: 1 year
Compliance date: December 31
Reporting date: December 31
Compliance group: All attorneys report annually
Minutes per credit hour: 0 minutes. In order to receive CLE credit for an approved course, an attorney must be present for 50 minutes out of a 60 minute course. After the first 60 minutes, an attorney may receive credit for the time the attorney is actually present at the course rounded down to the nearest quarter hour.
Limit on credit hours for recorded programs: No limit. Attorneys can earn all CLE hours via recorded programs.
Attendance Reporting Procedure: Attorneys must self-report CLE compliance on the annual attorney registration statement. Attorneys should not send certificates of attendance to Hawaii after each program.
Hawaii MCLE Requirements (from the American Bar Association website)