WEST VIRGINIA CLE
With everything you have on your plate,
fulfilling your West Virginia CLE should be easy.
You are always looking for ways to grow your practice while mitigating risk. ALPS brings more than 30 years of claims experience to help law firms prevent claims before they occur. We understand that in West Virginia CLE is a requirement, but ALPS is committed to providing substantive continuing legal education to help our policyholders and the West Virginia legal community as a whole be more successful.
ALPS is proud to be the West Virginia State Bar-endorsed malpractice insurance carrier, offering high-quality, accredited West Virginia CLE with both live webinars and on-demand seminars on a number of relevant risk management topics, including many Ethics courses. ALPS policyholders can access any West Virginia CLE at a discounted tuition.
The ALPS CLE library is embarking on a platform migration and our on-demand library is currently unavailable. It will be available again in early March.
West Virginia MCLE Requirements
WV CLE credit hours required: 24 hours per reporting period
Specialty credits required: 3 hours of legal ethics, office management, substance abuse and/or elimination of bias in the legal profession per reporting period
Length of reporting period: 2 years
Compliance date: June 30 of even-numbered years
Reporting date: July 31 of even-numbered years
Compliance group: All attorneys report biennially.
Minutes per credit hour: 50 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 50 and round down to the nearest one-hundredth of an hour.
Limit on credit hours for recorded programs: Attorneys can earn up to 12 CLE hours via recorded programs per reporting period. ABA recorded product formats listed below are approved in West Virginia.
West Virginia CLE Requirements (from the American Bar Association website)