With everything you have on your plate,
fulfilling your UTAH CLE should be easy.
You are always looking for ways to grow your practice while mitigating risk. ALPS brings more than 30 years of claims experience to help law firms prevent claims before they occur. We understand that in Utah CLE is a requirement, but ALPS is committed to providing substantive continuing legal education to help our policyholders and the Utah legal community as a whole be more successful.
ALPS is proud to be the Utah State Bar-endorsed malpractice insurance carrier, offering high-quality, accredited Utah CLE with both live webinars and on-demand seminars on a number of relevant risk management topics, including many Ethics courses. ALPS policyholders can access any Utah CLE at a discounted tuition.
The ALPS CLE library is embarking on a platform migration and our on-demand library is currently unavailable. It will be available again in early March.
Utah MCLE Requirements
Utah CLE credit hours required: 24 hours per reporting period
Specialty credits required: 3 hours of legal ethics or professional responsibility, with 1 of the 3 hours in the area of professionalism and civility
Length of reporting period: 2 years
Compliance date: June 30
Reporting date: July 31
Compliance group: Attorneys are assigned to 1 of 2 compliance groups reporting in either odd-numbered years or in even-numbered years. The compliance period begins on July 1st.
Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round down to the nearest half hour.
Limit on credit hours for distance learning programs: Attorneys can earn up to 12 CLE hours per reporting period via distance learning programs* (i.e. webinars, teleconferences, and recorded products) as long as the programs are accredited by the Utah State Board of CLE. ABA recorded product formats listed below are acceptable formats in Utah.
Attendance Reporting Procedure: The ABA reports attendance for live programs to the Utah State Board of CLE. The ABA does not report attendance for recorded products. Please use Self-Study Form 5 ‘Application By A Member of the Utah State Bar for Accreditation of Approved CLE Audio and Video Presentations, Computer Interactive Telephonic Programs and Webcasts’. The Utah State Board of CLE charges a $10.00 non-refundable fee and should accompany the Self-Study Form 5 Utah State Board of CLE application.
Utah CLE Requirements (from the American Bar Association website)