SOUTH CAROLINA CLE
With everything you have on your plate,
fulfilling your South Carolina CLE should be easy.
You are always looking for ways to grow your practice while mitigating risk. ALPS brings more than 30 years of claims experience to help law firms prevent claims before they occur. We understand that in South Carolina CLE is a requirement, but ALPS is committed to providing substantive continuing legal education to help our policyholders and the South Carolina legal community as a whole be more successful.
ALPS is proud to be the South Carolina Bar-endorsed malpractice insurance carrier, offering high-quality, accredited South Carolina CLE with both live webinars and on-demand seminars on a number of relevant risk management topics, including many Ethics courses. ALPS policyholders can access any South Carolina CLE at a discounted tuition.
The ALPS CLE library is embarking on a platform migration and our on-demand library is currently unavailable. It will be available again in early March.
South Carolina MCLE Requirements
SC CLE credit hours required: 14 hours per reporting period
Specialty credits required: 2 hours of legal ethics or professional responsibility. At least once every 3 annual reporting periods, 1 of these 2 specialty hours must be devoted to instruction in substance abuse or mental health issues and the legal profession.
Length of reporting period: 1 year
Compliance date: February 28
Reporting date: March 1
Compliance group: All attorneys report annually.
Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round down to the nearest quarter hour.
South Carolina CLE Requirements (from the American Bar Association website)