With everything you have on your plate,
fulfilling your Maine CLE should be easy.
You are always looking for ways to grow your practice while mitigating risk. ALPS brings more than 30 years of claims experience to help law firms prevent claims before they occur. We understand that in Maine CLE is a requirement, but ALPS is committed to providing substantive continuing legal education to help our policyholders and the Maine legal community as a whole be more successful.
ALPS is proud to be the Maine State Bar Association-endorsed malpractice insurance carrier, offering high-quality, accredited Maine CLE with both live webinars and on-demand seminars on a number of relevant risk management topics, including many Ethics courses. ALPS policyholders can access any Maine CLE at a discounted tuition.
The ALPS CLE library is embarking on a platform migration and our on-demand library is currently unavailable. It will be available again in early March.
Maine MCLE Requirements
ME CLE credit hours required: 11 hours per reporting period
Specialty credits required: 1 hour of ethics or professional responsibility per reporting period
Length of reporting period: 1 year
Compliance date: August 31
Reporting date: August 31
Compliance group: All attorneys report annually. Newly admitted attorneys who complete an approved Bridging-the-Gap program or other practical skills course made available by the Board of Overseers of the Bar will be exempt from the requirements during the year in which the attorney is admitted to the bar of Maine and during the following calendar year.
Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round up or down to the nearest quarter hour.
Limit on credit hours for recorded programs: Attorneys can earn up to 5.5 CLE hours via recorded programs. The product formats listed below are approved in Maine.
Maine CLE Requirements (from the American Bar Association website)